Managing roles and permissions

Copied URL to clipboard

Tutorial Breakdown

For teams to effectively collaborate, they need a way to maintain the integrity of the system as different types of people access it. Roles and permissions are built into DSM at both the organization and design system level — so there is complete control over who can view or edit each design system within the organization.

DSM has three organization and design system level roles; Admin, Editor, and Viewer.

Thoughtfully spreading those roles across your team will immediately improve consistency and eliminate confusion. It’s not magic. It’s management.

Transcript

For teams to effectively collaborate, they need a way to maintain the integrity of the system as different types of people access it. Roles and permissions are built into DSM at both the organization and design system level — so there is complete control over who can view or edit each design system within the organization.

DSM has three organization level roles. Administrator, Editor, and Viewer.

A DSM Organization Admin can manage the organization by logging in to DSM on the web — then choosing People from the left hand side of the screen.

From here, an Admin can add and remove members — and can also change their roles.

If your team is on an InVision Enterprise account, an Admin can open access to anyone on your account — or restrict access to only people who are invited to your DSM organization.

It’s important to note that for Enterprise accounts, only members of your InVision Enterprise account can be invited to join the DSM organization.

An Organization Admin can also view and edit all design systems in the organization from the design systems screen — as well as create new ones.

Members and permissions can also be managed at the individual design system level. To manage membership of a specific design system — open it — and click share in the bottom right corner.

By default, anyone in your DSM organization can access a new design system, but there are three privacy settings which you can use to determine who has access.

Click Settings to toggle between anyone in your DSM organization having access — only people invited to this specific design system — or opening it up to everyone who has a DSM share link, including anonymous users. These anonymous users can view the design system on the web, but not use it via the DSM Sketch plugin.

Let’s look at how to manage specific members by switching to “People Invited”. Click Save — and you can now type to invite members of your organization to this specific design system. Click Invite, and the selected members will be added— and automatically inherit their Organization-level roles — which can then be edited by an Admin.

Design system Administrators can change the System’s privacy settings, invite members of the organization to the design system, set roles for design system members, and of course edit the content of the design system itself.

Members in the design system Editor role can also invite members of the DSM organization to the design system — as well as edit the design system.

The Viewer role on the other hand can only view the content of the design system.

It’s also worth noting that DSM organization admins are also admins of all design systems in the organization, independently of the individual system’s privacy settings.

Read More

Explore how DSM transforms the way design and development work together.

 
Get Started