Version control - InVision

Version control

Copied URL to clipboard

Tutorial Breakdown

It’s critical to track changes and stay on top of what’s current as your library evolves. DSM’s superpowered versioning features provide an effortless solution to this challenge.

Simply put, editors make changes in a “living” library version—the shared draft. Those changes are immediately available to anyone working with the shared draft.

As systems mature and stakeholders multiply, teams transition to a static library version separate from the shared draft. Admins take tighter control of the shared draft and decide when it’s best to push changes—and the context around them—to the team.

Plus, viewing, comparing, and switching between versions is easy. You can keep your team focused and moving forward. The right version will be there when they need it.

Transcript

As your libraries grow and evolve over time, keeping track of changes (as well as what’s current) can become a critical challenge. That’s why we’ve equipped DSM with some of the most powerful versioning features you’ll find in a design tool. Let’s look at how versioning in DSM works.

As the admin, everything you edit and change lives in a version called Shared Draft. Any changes to the Shared Draft are immediately available to any designer working with the Shared Draft. This model works when your team is small and when the frequency of changes is high, typically at the initial phases of setting up a new design system. As the system matures, it’s common for teams to work from an official, static library version that’s separate from the Shared Draft until you’re ready to release a new version.

To do just that—from the DSM Sketch plugin, click the name of your current library, hover over the library name in the dropdown menu, and click Release New Version. This will open a modal where you can give this version a name and add context about what’s changed in this version. When you’re ready, just click Create Version and you’re done.

Design system editors can now continue iterating and evolving within the Shared Draft without constantly pushing changes and updates to your entire team before they’re ready, which lets them stay focused on making amazing experiences.

You can also easily switch between versions by selecting your desired version from the library dropdown menu at any time.

To access your library’s version history (and keep track of the changes) click View On The Web to open your library’s web view. From the bottom left-hand corner, you can click on the version name to view the full version history. From the ellipses next to a version name, you’ll be able to view or revert to that version.

Before doing so, you can also click to compare any changes made from the previous version. Here, you’ll find a visual diff of any items added, removed, or changed in the library.

DSM even creates a per-component visual diff for any components that have changed. To see a detailed side-by-side comparison of a changed asset, click More Details. Here, you’ll get an expanded view of the visual diff to maintain absolute clarity even when your team is iterating very rapidly.

Versioning keeps your team moving forward and allows for the ultimate agility—without risk or compromise.

Read More

Live Training: Get started with InVision DSM

Make the most of your design system with a live DSM webinar that covers best practices, practical advice, and more.

SCHEDULE YOUR SESSION